Established by Fathi Ibrahim Bayoud 2005 - Homs

EU adds 7 Syrian ministers to sanction list

Local | 2020-10-16 19:38:12
EU adds 7 Syrian ministers to sanction list
The European Union on Friday decided to impose sanctions on seven newly appointed ministers in Syria over violent repression against the civilian population.

The sanctions include a travel ban and an asset freeze against the ministers.

With seven more ministers, the number of people who are subjected to EU’s sanctions increased to 280. 70 entities are also on the bloc’s list.

The EU first introduced the sanctions against the Syrian regime in 2011, which also includes a ban on the import of oil in addition to asset freeze and travel ban.

Syria has been ravaged by a multifaceted civil war since early 2011 when the Bashar al-Assad regime cracked down on pro-democracy protesters.

Hundreds of thousands of people have been killed and more than 10 million displaced, according to UN estimates.

Comments (0)

Post Your Comments

fill all fields below
*This confirmation code will prevent auto submit
X :Latest News
Berkshire Hathaway to pay $4.14 million to settle Iran sanctions violations claims      UK to infect healthy volunteers in vaccine research trial      Syrian girl who witnessed horrors of Ghouta nominated for 2020 Children's Peace Prize      Under attack and losing hope, Iraqi activists flee abroad      Khashoggi's fiancee sues Saudi crown prince for murder      Israel says UAE visit 'making history' - Palestinians call it 'shameful'      U.S. says Google breakup may be needed to end violations of antitrust law      NASA hires Nokia to build first 4G network on Moon